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What is CPM, CPC, CPA and CTR ?

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CPM

CPM means Cost Per Thousand. (M is the Roman numeral for thousand – and so Cost Per Thousand).

This is the amount you will pay the ad-network or website publisher to show your ad a thousand times on their website or across their ad-network.

Whether your ad is shown only once to each visitor (Unique Impressions) or any number of times – is something that you will have to work out with the nad-network or the website.

CPM rates were once (pre yr 2000 bubble-burst era) as much as $75, but have now dropped to as little as $1 CPM.

CPC

CPC means Cost Per Click. This is how much you would pay the ad-network or website every time a visitor clicks on your banner. CPC rates can be as high as $3 per click or as little as 5 cents per click. It depends on your product and your market – amongst other factors, the more competition there is – the higher you will probably end up paying as you compete with competitors.

CPA

CPA means Cost Per Action. The Action could be any of the following types of actions – A visitor clicking on your banner coming to your site and filling up a simple enquiry form (CPR – Cost Per Registration) , or if the visitor makes a purchase (CPS – Cost Per sale). It could be a flat fee or a percentage commission of the sale made. Affiliate-Networks like commissionjunction , linkshare and clickbank have very good software systems in place to track all this and provide statistics to online merchants and publishers on their network of websites.

I have explained in detail what an Affiliate Network is, in another section. They basically, allow publisher websites to sign up for free so they can start earning commissions on sales arising out of the traffic they send to online merchants. The Affiliate Network tracks all this using their system and code merchants and publishers are required to place on their website. Publishers can sign up for free mostly, and in some cases online Merchants are required to pay a one time setup fee and possibly a monthly fee with commissions – eg. As in commissionjunction. A very popular site that is free to Merchants is Clickbank network.

CTR

CTR is Click Through Rate. This is the percentage rate at which people click on your ad banner. If your banner ad is seen by 100 people but clicked by one person – then it’s CTR is 1% or .01

Similarly, if your ad banner is seen 100,000 times and in the same time period it is clicked 2000 times – then your banner CTR is 2% or .02 .

This is how we calculate CTR …

(Number of Clicks / Number of impressions) x 100

Example, for above case it would be –

(2000 / 100,000) x 100 = .02

CPM, CPC or CPA … which is best for my ad campaign?

Your choice will depend on various factors. Sometimes companies such as Pepsi, would just like to enforce their brand and be seen across many websites, without any need for the user to click on their banners. This is a brand hammering strategy, and a CPM deal would be preferred.

Apart from the above mass branding effort, the decision to go for a CPC, CPM or CPA ad becomes a calculated decision when you have a product that you want to sell on your website.

Would you pay the publisher for only visitors he sends you? or would you pay him for every thousand ads he displays for you?or would you pay him a commission on sales from visitors he sends you?

This is tricky. You may need to read the paragraphs below slowly, or even several times over to get the gist of what I am saying …

To help you decide, you should first run a pilot CPM campaign that will help you gauge results. Your CPM campaign and number of Clicks on your banner, will let you know exactly what your CTR (Click through Rate) is for your banner.

Your CTR will help you decide your campaign type – CPM or CPC ? If your CTR is high, you should go in for a CPM, if its low you should go in for a CPC.

The reason for this is simple. If you have a low CTR then you would rather only pay for the low traffic that comes to your site. If your CTR is high , then you don’t mind paying CPM – because your cost will not escalate for more and more visitors that come to your site, but will remain the same.

I will explain the above, with a couple of examples –

Example 1

Lets suppose a website that you want to advertise on charges a CPM of $5.00 and a CPC of 50 cents.

And, you need to decide if you should go in for CPM or CPC ?

Lets suppose you first buy 1,000,000 impressions.

This works out to $5000 ($5 per 1000 impressions x 1000)

Now lets suppose your CTR is not good and is 0.2 % (or 2 clicks per 1000 ads)

Now, you need to calculate the amount you will pay of you had bought a CPC.

If your CTR is 0.2% and you display 1,000,000 ads, then this works out to …

.002 x 1,000,000 = 2000 clicks.

So essentially you have paid $5000 for 2000 clicks or $2.50 per click!!

This means that I am better of buying on a CPC basis, because one click there costs me only 50cents! And if I go for CPC, then I will get 10,000 clicks for $5000 … which is 5 times more than the clicks i get in the CPM model (2000).

Example 2

Lets assume that your banner ad turns out to be very good and gets a very good CTR of say 5%

Now you need to decide ..CPM or CPC.

Lets analyze as above –

I paid $5000 for 1,000,000 ads at 5% CTR

That means 5% x 1,000,000 ads were clicked on , which equals

= .05 (5%) x 1,000,000 = 50,000 clicks!

So for $5000 i got 50,000 clicks.

Now, if I had bought on a click basis, then at the CPC rate of (50cents) I will pay

50,000 x $0.50 amount for 50,000 clicks, which is $25,000 (5 times what I would pay with CPM, for the same traffic)

So, I am better of buying with a CPM system for this banner ad campaign

What about CPA ?

I have dedicated a separate chapter for this. This system is gaining popularity slowly. It seems to be the fairest system of all the three methods – specially when you are selling a product or service. Both Google and Yahoo are leaning towards taking their CPC system into a more fair and measurable CPA system. Google has recently launched Google Analytics and Google’s version of PayPal (Google Checkout) – that is a positive and firm step towards its CPA plans.

Selling ad-space on your website – how much can you charge?

Nowadays CPM rates have fallen from highs of $50 to $10 to $2 in many cases.

If you have high traffic you may approach ad-networks, and they will serve out the ads for your website. They will give you a piece of code to insert into the pages of your website. You will get a Username and Password to login to a control panel area on the ad-networks main website, to see how your site is performing. Ad-networks pay you based on CPM or CPC, depending on what their client (the advertiser) opt for. They will take from 40% to 60% commission. This is acceptable, considering the fact that they get you the clients and revenues, and they have to manage all the advertising technology and payment systems.

Most of these ad-networks require that you have a certain number of impressions per month to qualify to become part of their network of websites. For example, DoubleClick requires at minimum 5 million monthly page impressions. There are many mid sized networks, like Advertising , fastclick , ValueClick (only CPC, owned partially by DoubleClick) and even smaller ad networks like, burstnet . You should visit adbalance to get a complete list and brief on popular ad networks.

Banner Management Software

If you would like to manage your own Clients and their banner ads for your website, you will need to develop an ad-serving engine or license a third party engine and install it on your website. You can get a list of free and paid software scripts that you can install on your website from cgi-resources.com or hotscripts.com



Source by Vishal Lamba

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‘Belief Hacks’ and Different Attainable Threats to the Election

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In Georgia, a database that verifies voter signatures used to be locked up through Russian hackers in a ransomware assault that still dumped electorate’ registration knowledge on-line.

In California and Indiana, Russia’s maximum bold state hackers, a unit connected to the Federal Safety Provider, or F.S.B., bored into native networks and hit some election methods, even though it’s nonetheless unclear why.

In Louisiana, the Nationwide Guard used to be referred to as in to forestall cyberattacks geared toward small executive workplaces that hired gear in the past noticed simplest in assaults through North Korea.

And on Tuesday night time, anyone hacked the Trump marketing campaign, defacing its web page with a threatening message in damaged English caution that there can be extra to return.

None of those assaults amounted to a lot. However from the sprawling struggle room at United States Cyber Command to these tracking the election at Fb, Twitter, Google and Microsoft, professionals are looking at carefully for extra “belief hacks.” The ones are smaller assaults that may be simply exaggerated into one thing larger and doubtlessly seized upon as proof that the entire vote casting procedure is “rigged,” as President Trump has claimed it’s going to be.

The word comes up each time Christopher Krebs, the Division of Fatherland Safety reputable answerable for ensuring vote casting methods are safe, talks in regards to the greatest vulnerabilities on this election. His concern isn’t a limiteless assault however a sequence of smaller ones, possibly concentrated in swing states, whose impact is extra mental than actual.

Belief hacks are simply one among a spread of problems occupying election officers and cybersecurity professionals within the ultimate days of vote casting — and their issues is not going to finish on Election Day.

One principle gaining flooring within American intelligence companies is that the Russians, having made the purpose that they continue to be within key American methods in spite of strengthened defenses and new offensive operations through Cyber Command, might take a seat out the following week — till it’s transparent whether or not the vote is shut.

The Russian play, beneath this principle, can be to fire up state-by-state election battles, producing or amplifying claims of fraud that might additional undermine American self belief within the integrity of the election procedure.

The Iranians would proceed their playbook, which American intelligence officers see as extra comparable to vandalism than critical hacking, stuffed with threats in mangled English.

Stay alongside of Election 2020

However American professionals have warned native officers that come Nov. three the Iranians might search to paralyze or deface the internet sites of secretaries of state, affecting the reporting of effects, and create the impact of being throughout the vote casting infrastructure even supposing they by no means have been and the election effects have now not been compromised.

Here’s a have a look at one of the crucial doable threats and what has been realized thus far in a 12 months of behind-the-scenes cyberbattles.

Govt officers are looking to guarantee electorate that vote casting machines are onerous to hack on a big scale: They’re virtually totally offline. States and counties use their very own methods, and the breadth and variety of the ones methods, the argument is going, make it just about inconceivable for a unmarried assault to focus on they all.

However that doesn’t get rid of the chance. On the College of Michigan, J. Alex Halderman has became his laboratory into an arcade of voting-machine vulnerabilities and located techniques to create “assaults that may unfold from mechanical device to mechanical device like a pc virus and silently trade election results.”

Others indicate that nobody must hack each state to motive havoc. In a good election, an attacker may goal Atlanta, Philadelphia, Detroit or Milwaukee and extend the reporting of effects from an electoral battleground.

The opposite vulnerable level within the diversity-as-security declare, election safety professionals say, is the constellation of contractors that toughen elections throughout more than one states and counties. “The declare that variety is protective the election is a logical fallacy,” mentioned Harri Hursti, an election safety guide.

Mr. Hursti worries a couple of state of affairs wherein poll scanners might be reprogrammed to learn a vote for Joseph R. Biden Jr. as a vote for Mr. Trump or vice versa.

“A unmarried level of failure may compromise election infrastructure throughout more than one counties and states,” Mr. Hursti warned.

His worry is precisely cautionary, however now not unheard-of. Now not lengthy after the 2016 election, a Nationwide Safety Company whistle-blower published that VR Programs, a Florida corporate that equipped check-in tool to more than one states, together with essential swing states like Florida and North Carolina, used to be compromised through Russian hackers prior to the vote. There’s no proof they used that get admission to to have an effect on the overall vote.

The consistent drumbeat of cyberattacks and overseas interference has pressured states to place safeguards in position. States were running to print paper backups of voter registration knowledge, and they’ve been phasing out machines that go away no paper backup.

Mr. Krebs mentioned that subsequent week about 92 % of all votes solid can be “related” with some more or less paper file, up considerably from 4 years in the past.

However with the surge in mail-in ballots this 12 months, mechanical device vote casting can even diminish as a share of the overall vote. So the vulnerabilities that the Fatherland Safety Division’s Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Safety Company is excited about are doable assaults on voter registration, verification and vote reporting methods, in conjunction with the pc networks of secretaries of state, or energy outages on the polls.

The ones forms of assaults would now not trade the vote tallies. However, performed artfully sufficient, particularly in battleground states or key districts inside of the ones states, they might be used to sow doubt in regards to the legitimacy of the election.

Some officers nonetheless ponder whether that used to be the inducement at the back of a few of Russia’s 2016 interference, when hackers “scanned” the registration databases of all 50 states, breached methods in Arizona and Florida, and made an strangely noisy display of stealing electorate’ registration knowledge in Illinois however in the long run did not anything with it.

A lot of the ones vulnerabilities were patched, due to an competitive marketing campaign through the Fatherland Safety Division and the states. However vote casting is a neighborhood affair and vulnerabilities stay, as Gov. Ron DeSantis of Florida found out when he went to vote early in Tallahassee, the state capital. Any individual — the police arrested a 20-year-old from Naples, Fla. — had modified the governor’s cope with to West Palm Seashore.

For this reason there may be such a lot worry a couple of Russian workforce referred to as Full of life Undergo. Over time, the crowd, believed to be a unit of the F.S.B., has breached American energy grids, water remedy crops, a nuclear energy plant in Kansas and, extra not too long ago, internet methods at San Francisco World Airport.

And beginning in September, it all started going into the methods of state and native governments. Thus far, intelligence officers say they’ve succeeded in breaching simplest two servers in California and Indiana.

Probably the most forthcoming danger, officers say, is ransomware assaults that would freeze some a part of the vote casting gadget and extend effects.

This can be a signal of the way involved the intelligence companies and personal trade are about ransomware that over the last month each Cyber Command and a bunch of businesses led through Microsoft were bringing down servers all over the world connected to TrickBot, a suite of gear utilized in one of the crucial maximum refined ransomware operations.

“That is all about disrupting TrickBot’s operations all the way through top election task,” mentioned Tom Burt, the Microsoft govt in command of the operation.

However there may be already proof that the hackers at the back of TrickBot have shifted to new gear, consistent with Mandiant, a cybersecurity company. During the last month and a part, researchers found out that the similar other people were directing a spate of vicious new ransomware assaults that experience taken American hospitals offline, simply as coronavirus circumstances are spiking.

“They might use those identical gear towards whoever they would like whether or not it’s the election or hospitals,” mentioned Kimberly Goody, a cybercrime analyst at Mandiant.

A ransomware assault in Gainesville, Ga., locked up the voter signature verification methods ultimate week, forcing ballot employees to do issues the old school approach, pulling registration playing cards manually and eyeballing the signatures.

The assault, which doesn’t seem to have been directed on the election however took election methods down as collateral harm, uncovered endured vulnerable spots in Georgia, a key battleground state.

Inner emails confirmed that the Georgia secretary of state’s place of work disabled two-factor authentication in contemporary weeks, after its election tool used to be buckling beneath the deluge of early electorate. Two-factor authentication, which assists in keeping hackers from breaking into methods with one stolen password, has been key to the Fatherland Safety Division’s election safety technique, and on this case emails display that the secretary of state merely became it off.

Mr. Trump has already promoted the concept mail-in ballots can be riddled with fraud and has sought to make use of small system defects within the distribution and go back of mail ballots as proof that the gadget can’t be relied on if the outcome is going towards him.

The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Safety Company issued a “public carrier announcement” not too long ago about taking care to ensure data prior to believing it or reposting it. However as some executive officers concede, there is not any treatment for a president who repeats unproven rumors and conspiracy theories — instead of without delay contradicting him.

“They’ve walked the road in moderation,” mentioned Senator Angus King, unbiased of Maine. “However the true take a look at is coming.”



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Disinformation Strikes From Social Networks to Texts

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Ultimate week, a political motion committee known as the American Ideas Venture unveiled a brand new video on Twitter falsely claiming that Democratic presidential nominee Joseph R. Biden Jr. supported intercourse adjustments for 8-year-olds.

Since Friday, a an identical video has additionally gave the impression on Fb as many as 100,000 instances — essentially in Michigan, a swing state within the Nov. three election.

What has been tougher to pinpoint is how extensively the video has been spreading via textual content messages.

Regardless that firms like Fb and Twitter have evolved equipment for monitoring and policing disinformation on their social networks, texting process is in large part a free-for-all that receives little scrutiny from tech firms and govt regulators.

“There is not any strategy to audit this,” stated Jacob Gursky, a analysis affiliate on the College of Texas at Austin. “Organizations are simply amassing mobile phone numbers from information agents and mass-texting folks.”

The video circulated in Michigan, Wisconsin and Pennsylvania as a part of a coordinated texting marketing campaign, in step with a learn about through researchers on the College of Texas at Austin. Over the weekend, it reached a reporter who covers on-line disinformation for the scoop website Protocol. The reporter had a Pennsylvania mobile phone quantity.

Twisting the which means of Mr. Biden’s statements all the way through a contemporary “the city corridor” match — which condemned discrimination towards kids who establish as transgender however didn’t cope with intercourse adjustments — the marketing campaign used to be a high-profile instance of increasingly more in style efforts to distribute disinformation via textual content messages.

“All the way through a contemporary the city corridor, Joe Biden counseled giving 8- to 10-year-olds intercourse exchange remedies,” the texts learn. “That is method too excessive for me. I will’t give a boost to him.”

The texts tracked through Mr. Gursky and his fellow researchers stated they had been despatched through the American Ideas Venture, however they referred to the group simplest as “the APP PAC.” The texts purport to reach from a “Democratic volunteer.”

The American Ideas Venture didn’t reply to a request for remark.

Knowledge on texting campaigns is tricky to return through. However Robokiller, an organization that blocks automatic telephone calls and texts, stated American citizens won 2.6 billion political textual content messages in September, a 400 % build up since June. The corporate estimated that since June, Republication-affiliated organizations have despatched kind of six instances extra messages than their Democratic opposite numbers.

The Texas researchers stated texting campaigns are partially a response to greater scrutiny on social media services and products. As Fb and Twitter have driven disinformation networks off their services and products, the networks have resurfaced on non-public texting apps like Sign, Telegram and WhatsApp, the place they are able to proceed function with out being monitored.

Non-public disinformation networks are prevalent in puts like India and Mexico, the researchers stated. However they’re changing into extra not unusual in positive portions of the USA, similar to southern Florida, the place apps like WhatsApp are in style.





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Fb, Google and Twitter C.E.O.s go back to Washington to protect their content material moderation.

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For greater than twenty years, web corporations had been protected from legal responsibility for a lot of what their customers put up through a once-obscure rule referred to as Phase 230 of the Communications Decency Act. Now that defend — and the way web corporations reasonable content material on their websites — is being wondered through lawmakers on each side of the political aisle.

On Wednesday, the executive executives of Google, Fb and Twitter will testify prior to a Senate committee about their moderation practices.

The listening to, held through the Senate Committee on Trade, Science and Transportation, shall be a repeat efficiency prior to Congress for Sundar Pichai of Google, Mark Zuckerberg of Fb and Jack Dorsey of Twitter. However with the Nov. three election not up to every week away, the executives face further drive to regulate incorrect information with out exerting unfair affect at the vote casting procedure.

Despite the fact that the corporations are answerable for protective highbrow assets and rooting out violations of federal felony legislation, Phase 230 shields them from defamation complaints and different felony claims which may be pricey to combat.

The legislation, regarded as one of the crucial bedrock rules that allowed the economic web to flourish, was once meant to offer tech corporations extensive discretion over moderation, permitting them to set laws for what customers may just and may just now not put up on their websites. It was once intended as a sensible answer that will permit folks to specific themselves freely on-line, whilst maintaining corporations off the hook for each remark their customers made.

Republicans argue the corporations — Twitter, specifically — are being heavy-handed of their content material moderation and are unfairly silencing conservative voices. Democrats, on the other hand, argue the corporations aren’t doing sufficient to stay incorrect information and outright lies off their platforms.

In Would possibly, President Trump additionally issued an government order meant to strip the corporations of the felony protected harbor supplied through Phase 230, regardless that it was once now not transparent what authority the management must make that vary.

The listening to starts at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, and the executive executives are anticipated to take questions remotely from 26 senators. The listening to is anticipated to final a number of hours.

Mr. Dorsey is more likely to face the hardest wondering as a result of Twitter has been specifically competitive in its efforts to fact-check and take down posts that mislead customers in regards to the pandemic and the presidential election.

Closing week, Twitter blocked a hyperlink to a New York Put up article about Joseph R. Biden Jr.’s son, Hunter Biden, pronouncing that it violated corporate insurance policies in opposition to sharing private data and content material stolen through hackers. After an outcry from conservative leaders, Twitter walked again the verdict and allowed the hyperlink to be shared.

Mr. Dorsey and Mr. Zuckerberg are scheduled to testify once more on Nov. 17 in a Senate Judiciary Committee listening to that can focal point on Twitter and Fb’s selections to restrict the unfold of the New York Put up article. Fb took steps to scale back the unfold of the tale and stated it was once eligible for fact-checking, however was once now not as competitive as Twitter.



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